How much are AWS, Microsoft and Google investing in India, and why?
Last updated
Amazon, Microsoft and Google have pledged more than US$56bn for AI and cloud in India (Oct 2026). Most of it is for 2026 to 2030, though Microsoft's Hyderabad region went live on 21 Sep 2026. The reason: India produces nearly 20% of the world's data but hosts about 3% of its data centres (Jun 2025).
Key facts
Amazon plans US$48bn across all its India businesses for 2026 to 2030, of which US$21bn+ is for AI and cloud.
As of 25 Jun 2026. Amazon India
Microsoft has pledged US$20.5bn for 2025 to 2029, and its new three-zone Hyderabad region went live on 21 September 2026.
As of 21 Sep 2026. Microsoft
Google plans about US$15bn for 2026 to 2030 on a gigawatt-scale AI hub in Visakhapatnam with AdaniConneX and Airtel. Ground was broken on 28 April 2026.
As of 28 Apr 2026. Google India
Adani Group has pledged US$100bn for AI infrastructure to 2035. This includes capacity built for Google and Microsoft, so do not add it to their pledges.
As of 17 Feb 2026. Adani Enterprises
CoreWeave announced 240 MW at Taloja, Navi Mumbai, with AdaniConneX, with an option for 240 MW more. The first phase is due mid-2028.
As of 6 Oct 2026. CoreWeave
Rupee to dollar conversions use ₹95.25 per US$ (FBIL reference rate, 13 Oct 2026).
Terms used on this page (5)
- Neocloud
- A cloud company built mainly to rent out GPU compute for AI, as opposed to a general-purpose hyperscaler.
- Hyperscaler
- The largest cloud providers: AWS, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud and similar.
- MW: IT load vs total power
- IT load is the power available to servers. Total power adds cooling and losses and is often 30 to 50% higher. Developers quote either.
- DPDP, significant data fiduciary
- The Digital Personal Data Protection Act 2023 and its 2025 Rules, India's privacy law. A significant data fiduciary is a large or sensitive data handler the government designates for extra duties.
- Lakh, crore
- 1 lakh is 100,000 and 1 crore is 10 million. ₹1 lakh crore is ₹1 trillion, about US$10.5bn at ₹95.25 per US$.
Commitments, drivers and signals to act on
Amazon, Microsoft and Google alone have pledged more than US$56 billion for AI and cloud in India, mostly for 2026 to 2030. Indian groups such as Adani and Reliance have pledged more.
Most of this is still a plan. Some is now real: Microsoft's Hyderabad region went live on 21 September 2026, and Google broke ground in Visakhapatnam on 28 April 2026.
What this means for a GPU cloud
The money is real but mostly future. The useful signal is where hyperscalers and their anchor tenants are building, because power, fibre and talent follow them, and they will compete with you for the same liquid-cooled halls.
Major AI and data centre commitments tied to India
| Company | Amount (US$) | Amount (₹) | Period | Where | Status (Oct 2026) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon (AWS) | US$48bn across all India businesses, of which US$21bn+ for AI and cloud | ₹4.57 lakh crore (₹2.0 lakh crore AI and cloud) | 2026 to 2030 | Mumbai; Hyderabad (new DC at Bharat Future City) | Plan; Hyderabad DC ground broken 15 Jul 2026 | Amazon India, 25 Jun 2026 |
| Microsoft | US$20.5bn (US$3bn for 2025-26 plus US$17.5bn for 2026-2029) | ₹1.95 lakh crore | 2025 to 2029 | Hyderabad (new 3-zone region), Chennai, Pune | Hyderabad region live 21 Sep 2026 | Microsoft, 9 Dec 2025 and 21 Sep 2026 |
| About US$15bn | ₹1.43 lakh crore | 2026 to 2030 | Visakhapatnam, with AdaniConneX and Airtel | Ground broken 28 Apr 2026; gigawatt-scale campus plus subsea gateway | Google, 14 Oct 2025 and 28 Apr 2026 | |
| Meta (with Reliance) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Delivery within 2 years | Jamnagar, Gujarat | 168 MW built-to-suit AI DC for Meta, option to scale (RIL, 10 Jun 2026) | Reliance Industries |
| Adani Group | US$100bn | ₹9.53 lakh crore | To 2035 | Vizag, Noida, Hyderabad, Pune and others | Pledge; AdaniConneX 65.4 MW live (Jul 2026) | Adani Enterprises, 17 Feb 2026 |
| Reliance Industries | About US$105bn at ₹95.25 (reported as about US$110bn in Feb 2026) | ₹10 lakh crore | 7 years | Jamnagar and India-wide | Reported by TechCrunch; amount not found in a Reliance filing. First 120 MW at Jamnagar targeted end-2026 | TechCrunch, 19 Feb 2026; Business Today, 19 Jun 2026 |
| AirTrunk (Blackstone, CPP Investments) | US$30bn | ₹2.86 lakh crore | To 2030 | Raigad (3 GW letter of intent), Mumbai, Chennai, Hyderabad | Plan for 5 GW; US$30bn by 2030; bought Lumina CloudInfra Apr 2026 | TechCrunch, 5 Jun 2026 |
| TCS HyperVault + TPG; OpenAI as first customer | About US$1.89bn platform; about US$7.35bn for Hyderabad with partners | Up to ₹18,000 crore; up to ₹70,000 crore | Multi-year, phased by demand | Hyderabad (264 acres, Bharat Future City) | OpenAI 100 MW initial, option to 1 GW (Feb 2026); land acquired Sep 2026 | Tata Group, 20 Nov 2025 and 19 Feb 2026; The News Minute, Sep 2026 |
| CoreWeave (with AdaniConneX) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | First phase mid-2028 | Taloja, Navi Mumbai | 240 MW announced, option for 240 MW more; NVIDIA Vera Rubin | CoreWeave, 6 Oct 2026 |
| IndiaAI Mission (Government) | US$1.09bn | ₹10,371.92 crore | From Mar 2024 | National | 38,000 GPUs onboarded; 20,000 more announced (Feb 2026) | PIB, 7 Mar 2024 and 17 Feb 2026 |
Do not add these rows together. Amazon's figure covers more than data centres, Adani's includes capacity built for Google and Microsoft, and the periods differ. Rupee figures at ₹95.25 per US$ unless a source gave its own.
Why they are investing
| Driver | What the evidence shows | Source |
|---|---|---|
| A large supply gap | India produces nearly 20% of the world's data (Nasscom estimate) but hosts about 3% of its data centres by count (Jun 2025) | Economic Survey 2025-26 |
| Fast-growing data use | Mobile data per user rose from 0.06 GB a month (2014) to 28.4 GB (Apr to Jun 2026) | Economic Survey; TRAI |
| Data rules and sovereignty | DPDP Rules notified Nov 2025, with most duties from 13 May 2027 and possible localisation for significant data fiduciaries (large data handlers the government designates); RBI and SEBI already require some data in India; Microsoft, Google and AWS now sell in-country AI processing | PIB; RBI; SEBI; company releases |
| AI use close to users | India is in Google's top 3 countries for Gemini and AI Mode; 4,000+ Indian startups in NVIDIA Inception | Google, Feb 2026; NVIDIA, Feb 2026 |
| Tax incentive for export cloud | The Finance Act 2026 added a tax exemption, to tax year 2046-47, for a foreign company's income from using data centre services from an Indian company's data centre; Parliament passed amendments on 10 Aug 2026 that drop the notification steps and allow leased data centres, but we could not confirm presidential assent or rules (Oct 2026) | Income-tax Act 2025, Schedule IV item 13C; Taxation and Other Laws (Amendment) Bill 2026 |
| Talent | 1,700+ GCCs with 1.9 million staff; India ranks second for AI skill penetration | Nasscom-Zinnov; Economic Survey |
| Clean power at scale | 53% of installed capacity is non-fossil (FY2026); projects bundle renewables with compute (Adani Khavda, Google in Andhra Pradesh) | CEA and MNRE; company releases |
| Regional hub and trusted supply chain | Microsoft calls Hyderabad a hub for Asia and the Global South; Meta's Jamnagar site will serve its global infrastructure; India joined the US-led Pax Silica coalition on 20 Feb 2026 | Microsoft; Reliance; PIB |
| Competition | Google US$15bn (14 Oct 2025), Microsoft US$17.5bn (9 Dec 2025), Amazon US$35bn the next day, raised to US$48bn (25 Jun 2026) | Company releases |
The wider case for India, with capacity forecasts and the risks, is on the Why India page.
Signals to act on
- Anchor tenants are taking power and land at the biggest campuses first: CoreWeave at Taloja, Meta at Jamnagar, Google at Visakhapatnam, all in the projects tracker. About 1.15 GW is pre-leased, roughly double the earlier level (Cushman & Wakefield APAC Investment Landscape 2026).
- Sovereignty rules and in-country inference create local GPU demand that offshore capacity cannot serve.
- The 2047 tax exemption favours exporting compute from India, but only where an Indian company runs the data centre and the foreign firm owns none of its infrastructure or resources. This is general information, not tax advice; see the neocloud entry guide.
- Expect large buyers to compete for the same liquid-cooled halls. Reserve early and in writing, and compare live capacity by operator.
Sources for this section (14)
- Amazon India. Amazon plans to invest US$48B in India from 2026 to 2030. 25 Jun 2026
- Amazon India. AWS to expand data centre operations in Hyderabad. 15 Jul 2026
- Microsoft. Microsoft invests US$17.5 billion in India. 9 Dec 2025
- Google India. Our first AI hub in India, powered by a US$15 billion investment. 14 Oct 2025
- Google India. Google AI hub: scaling India's AI infrastructure. 28 Apr 2026
- Reliance Industries. Reliance and Meta to develop AI-enabled data centre in Jamnagar. 10 Jun 2026
- Adani Enterprises. Adani commits US$100 bn to sovereign AI infrastructure. 17 Feb 2026
- TechCrunch. Reliance unveils US$110B AI investment plan. 19 Feb 2026
- TechCrunch. AirTrunk commits US$30B to build 5GW of AI data centers in India. 5 Jun 2026
- Tata Group. Tata Group and OpenAI partnership. 19 Feb 2026
- Tata Group. TCS and TPG to build HyperVault AI data centre platform. 20 Nov 2025
- PIB. India to add 20,000 GPUs beyond existing 38,000. 17 Feb 2026
- PIB. India joins Pax Silica at India AI Impact Summit 2026. 20 Feb 2026
- NVIDIA. India AI Mission infrastructure and models. 17 Feb 2026
Hyperscaler investment
Frequently asked questions
More than US$56 billion for AI and cloud, mostly for 2026 to 2030. Amazon plans US$48bn across all its India businesses from 2026 to 2030, of which US$21bn+ is for AI and cloud (25 Jun 2026). Microsoft has pledged US$20.5bn for 2025 to 2029 (9 Dec 2025), and Google about US$15bn for 2026 to 2030 (14 Oct 2025).
As of October 2026, Microsoft's new three-zone Hyderabad region is live; it opened on 21 September 2026. Google broke ground on its gigawatt-scale Visakhapatnam campus, built with AdaniConneX and Airtel, on 28 April 2026. AWS broke ground on a new Hyderabad data centre at Bharat Future City on 15 July 2026. Most of the pledged money is still a plan.
India produces nearly 20% of the world's data but hosts only about 3% of its data centres by count (Economic Survey 2025-26, Jun 2025). Mobile data per user rose from 0.06 GB a month in 2014 to 28.4 GB in April to June 2026 (Economic Survey 2025-26; TRAI), and India is in Google's top 3 countries for Gemini (Feb 2026). Data rules, a tax exemption for export cloud, talent and clean power add to the case. Competition matters too: Google (14 Oct 2025), Microsoft (9 Dec 2025) and Amazon (10 Dec 2025) announced pledges in quick succession.
Indian groups have pledged more: Adani US$100bn to 2035 (17 Feb 2026), and Reliance about ₹10 lakh crore over 7 years (reported by TechCrunch on 19 Feb 2026; not found in a Reliance filing). AirTrunk plans US$30bn by 2030 (5 Jun 2026). Reliance will build a 168 MW built-to-suit AI data centre for Meta at Jamnagar, due within two years (RIL, 10 Jun 2026), CoreWeave announced 240 MW at Taloja with AdaniConneX (6 Oct 2026), and TCS HyperVault has OpenAI as its first customer, starting at 100 MW (Feb 2026).
No, there is no reliable single total. The pledges cover different periods, Amazon's figure includes businesses beyond data centres, and Adani's includes capacity built for Google and Microsoft, so adding them double counts. The cleanest figure is the big three's AI and cloud pledges: more than US$56 billion, mostly for 2026 to 2030, as of October 2026.
Watch where hyperscalers and their anchor tenants build, because power, fibre and talent follow them. They are taking power and land at the biggest campuses first, and about 1.15 GW is pre-leased, roughly double the earlier level (Cushman & Wakefield, APAC Investment Landscape 2026). Expect them to compete with you for the same liquid-cooled halls, so reserve early and in writing. Sovereignty rules and in-country inference also create local GPU demand that offshore capacity cannot serve.
FlexiCloud DC advisory
Planning capacity in India?
If hyperscaler demand is squeezing your India plans, FlexiCloud's DC advisory can help with site and partner selection, power, connectivity and commercial terms.
More from the India data centre guide
Operators and live capacity
Live MW and vacancy for seven cities, led by Mumbai with 890 MW (H1 2026), plus live capacity, pipeline and owners for 14 major operators, each figure with its date and source.
Why India: outlook and risks
India produces nearly 20% of the world's data but hosts about 3% of its data centres (Jun 2025). See the capacity forecasts to 2030, the demand behind them, and the risks: grid delays, water, unsettled rules, vacancy and unbuilt announcements.
Neocloud entry guide
Entry models from colocation to build-to-suit, the Indian and US rules that apply (CERT-In, DPDP, export controls), IndiaAI reference GPU prices, verified state incentives and a 14-point checklist. Also why the 2047 tax exemption probably does not fit a neocloud that owns its GPUs.
Capacity is being built. Choosing where to run still matters.
More supply means more choice of site, region and provider, not less need for someone to help you pick. Whether you are planning your own capacity in India or need GPUs now, we deal with the operators and providers so you do not have to.
GPU capacity
Need B300 or B200 capacity?
Tell us your GPU count, term and region. We source the best-fit nodes across our provider network in India, the EU and the US, and confirm availability and lead time for your region before you order.